Beartooth Highway

I’m on my way home now, and the last few days have been so hectic that I haven’t been able to post much (and I’ve only occasionally had internet access). We spent last Monday in Yellowstone National Park, and exited through the northeast gate, which took us along US 212 (Beartooth Highway). This is, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful drive in the country.

This highway winds up rapidly through the mountains, and culminates in Beartooth Pass; 10,947 feet according to Wikipedia (my iPhone GPS at least was within the margin of error):

Geologically these mountains are formed from a complicated series of mostly Archean metamorphic rocks (especially gneiss) that seem to change in character every few hundred yards. The area was heavily sculpted by alpine glaciers during the Pleistocene, and U-shaped valleys are everywhere:

I should be getting home tomorrow, and I have a pretty full slate of Carmel Church and Solite work over the next few weeks.

This entry was posted in General Geology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beartooth Highway

  1. Brian Beatty says:

    gosh, that is beautiful!
    It will be great to have you back, but I can understand if you’re not thrilled about leaving such a nice place to go home to work. But hey, Carmel Church and Solite still are not my windowless office… after this great day at the beach and with fireworks, I’m not sure I can handle a day working on grant proposals and manuscripts come Monday….. ugh!

  2. Boesse says:

    If I had still been in Bozeman, I’d have invited you up a little further north – beartooth highway is only about 2 hours away (via Livingston, MT, and Mammoth).

Leave a Reply

