Storage jacket, travel, and more

It took me several days after the GSA meeting to catch up on various administrative duties, and I also spent some time last week working on collections organization (more on that later). I did finally get a chance to do a little work in the lab this morning, although it was just making a storage jacket.

This is first half of the storage jacket for our diplodocid ilium from the Two Sisters site in Wyoming. For those of you who may have forgotten what it looked like:

Later this week (possibly tomorrow) I’ll flip this over and make the other side of the jacket, and then we’ll move this to the collections room. That will free up our sandbox for reconstruction of our next baleen whale skull, “Picasso”.

I’m in a bit of a rush this week, because Spring is here, the weather is beautiful, and that means that this weekend I’m heading back to Carmel Church! As usual, I’ll be posting daily updates about the progress of the excavation, complete with lots of photos and (hopefully) videos.

***

I’m also going to be experimenting over the next few weeks with various changes to the blog’s homepage. The most noticeable is that, after being inspired by Callan Bentley at Mountain Beltway, I’ve created a Twitter account and added a feed to my homepage. I’ll have to see how this works, because I’m far from sold on the usefulness of Twitter. However, I do see the possibility of publishing field updates when I can’t get wireless access for my computer to do a full blog post. Let me know what you think.

A few weeks ago, I also added “Updates” to Networked Blogs on Facebook, and I’m still playing around with that widget. If you don’t already do so, you can follow the blog posts through Facebook (and if your friends are interested in paleontology, encourage them to follow as well!).

I also added a search bar to the homepage and the archive page a few weeks ago; this can search for any text on the site. I’m going to continue posting the Archive Quick Links, as these seem to be fairly popular, as well as the Blogroll RSS feeds and Natural History links (which I find useful).

If there are other things you would like to see (or see removed!), let me know by email or in the comments.

This entry was posted in Wyoming Excavations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Storage jacket, travel, and more

  1. Grenda says:

    I stopped my Twitter account, thought it was useless

Leave a Reply

