There’s always a bigger fish

I spent all of last week writing a manuscript on one of the Carmel Church specimens, which is why I didn’t get a post up last week. On Saturday I submitted the manuscript, and during the coming week I hope to get some lab work completed.

In the meantime, here’s a neat photo I took as part of some education programs that Brett, Christa, and I are developing on Carmel Church. These nine fish vertebrae are all from Carmel Church, and they’re intended to give a rough idea of the range of sizes of fish represented in the deposit. These are not all the same taxon, and in fact most of them have not been identified (although there is at least one drumfish, and I think at least one tuna). We have actually found smaller vertebrae than what’s shown here, but they wouldn’t show up well at this scale. The monster on the right is the largest fish vertebra we’ve found at Carmel Church; it’s actually only a little smaller than the vertebrae from “Sinistra”, one of our baleen whales.

This entry was posted in Carmel Church Osteichthyans, Carmel Church Quarry, Chesapeake Group. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s always a bigger fish

  1. boesse says:

    That is a pretty huge fish vert for sure… do you have any Cetorhinus or Carcharocles vertebral fragments?

    I’m somewhat certain that the vertebrae 3rd, 4th, and possibly 6th from the right are all Thunnus vertebrae, if that helps…

    And thought I’d pry – whats the manuscript on?

  2. Alton Dooley says:

    I knew someone would pry! The manuscript is on an odontocete from Carmel Church…I’ll say more if and when it’s published! It will hopefully go out for review in a week or so.

    We have two pretty large chondrichthyan vertebrae from Carmel Church; I did a post awhile ago on one of them (specifically, on its deformation). I don’t think they’re Cetorhinus. Carcharocles is a possibility, but I think Isurus hastalis might be more likely. Isurus is very common at Carmel Church, and they get pretty big, while Carcharocles is quite rare (especially non-reworked specimens).

Leave a Reply

