Darwin Day at Roanoke College

I spent all day Friday at Roanoke College, participating in Darwin Day celebrations. Darwin’s birthday is not actually until February 12, but thanks to DB Poli Darwin Day at Roanoke has evolved into an extravaganza with events spread over a period of three weeks.

On Friday I lectured on the Carmel Church beaked whale in the morning, and DB and I jointly lectured on lycopods in the afternoon. Most of the events were Friday evening in the student center, where the students participated in various evolution-themed games and a scavenger hunt (won by Laura Kellam’s team). Brett, Tim, and I also set up a fossil display with an array of specimens from the museum and casts from the RC Biology Department, with perhaps 150 RC students visiting throughout the evening. We also got cool Darwin Day T-shirts with a reconstruction of Toxodon on the front (including my fancy, unique tie-dyed version).

The activities continue over the next two weeks, and I’ll be returning to the college next Wednesday night to present a public lecture on “Sinistra”.

I was truly impressed with how Roanoke College has wholeheartedly embraced Darwin Day; they were even serving birthday cake with “Happy Birthday Charles Darwin” in the dining hall! Thanks to DB and Roanoke College for organizing this impressive event, and for inviting VMNH to participate.

This entry was posted in Science, education, and philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darwin Day at Roanoke College

  1. Brian Beatty says:

    I wish I could be there, it looks like fun! Carl Zimmer is giving a talk at Stony Brook on Friday night for Darwin Day, but otherwise no Darwin Day activities are on my horizon.
    I hope all went well with the Sinistra talk – I love that whale!!

  2. Alton Dooley says:

    The Sinistra talk went well, although I gave it while suffering from the flu or some other dread disease. I’ve already missed 3 days of work, and it sounds like half the museum staff is sick. That’s why I’ve been so slow with new blog posts, but I’m hoping to get something up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

