Dino Day 2013

Dino Day 2013 VMNH Martinsville, VALast Saturday was VMNH’s annual Dino Day festival, which this year coincided with the public opening of our Dinosaurs exhibit. We arrived early to start preparing the lab for the event, and Tim took a picture of the calm before the storm.

As soon as we opened visitors started arriving, and we had a steady stream throughout the day:

Dino Day 2013 VMNH Martinsville, VADuring the morning Vince Schneider from the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences presented several lectures on dinosaurs. In the lab we spent the late morning opening the Triceratops jacket transferred to us last week from SVDM. After spending a week making initial cuts, the opening went quickly:

Dino Day 2013 VMNH Martinsville, VA Dino Day 2013 VMNH Martinsville, VA

John Happ, who collected this specimen, was here for the opening and was able to assist with the opening and initial cleaning, while providing first-hand knowledge of what the jacket contained:

Dino Day 2013 VMNH Martinsville, VA

After opening the jacket, Ray and I did some demonstration casting of several specimens. Near the end of the day I presented a talk on Carmel Church biostratigraphy and depositional history.

We’re still waiting on the final numbers, but it appears we had well over 1,000 visitors on Saturday, which makes this one of the busiest days in VMNH history. Thanks to everyone who made the 2013 Dino Day such a success!

This entry was posted in Museums and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dino Day 2013

  1. George says:

    Butch

    Congrats on the opening. You and your organization sure do well with limited resources. I did see my cardio surgeon and he was happy with all with me. He told me I have no restrictions and I told him the earlier appointment he cleared me and now planning some field work in NC.

  2. Keith says:

    I glad to hear it went so well. I’m sorry I couldn’t be there; I had a prior commitment on Saturday. You know how much I like to watch jacket openings!

Leave a Reply

