The Paleo Intern Says Goodbye (by Madison Pullis)

Hold onto your seats, folks, because the DINOSAUR FESTIVAL IS UPON US! As I write this post, museum staff are finishing everything for the grand opening of “Dinosaurs: Reign of the Giants!” For those of you wondering, the Dinosaur Festival starts Friday, July 21st and will continue into Saturday, July 22nd. Check the museum’s website or Facebook page for times and schedules. For those of you anxiously awaiting the opening, enjoy this sneak peek of the T-rex skull that will be on display next to a full-sized Triceratops skeleton and real Triceratops skull!

File_004

That’s me in the suit!  Meeting my cousin and his much larger skull in the new exhibit Dinosaurs: Reign of the Giants.

Besides helping in the exhibit hall, and like I mentioned in the last posts, I have been preparing and photographing bones. Enjoy this image of me attempting to capture the perfect shot of this sauropod toe bone. The scale bar (the little white and blue strip hanging off the edge of the very impressive contraption I made) needs to be at the same level that the camera is focusing on the bone in order to be accurate.

I also went on an outreach event with Alex, Ray, and Lucy to the Schiele Museum, where they were hosting their own dinosaur festival. Along with teaching kids and their parents about dinosaurs, fossilized insects, and birds (they’re all connected somehow, I promise), we also had time to recreate the spectacular kitchen scene in Jurassic Park with our very own Peggy Sue (the Appalachiosaurus skull).

As my internship at the museum comes to an end, I would just like to say a big thank you to everyone I worked with at the Virginia Museum of Natural History. I had such a great experience and if I could do it all over again, I would. Smiley face.

About Alex

I started as the Assistant Curator of Paleontology at the Virginia Museum of Natural History in July of 2015. It's been a fun ride so far, with many more projects on the horizion. My background is in fossil reptiles, especially crocodiles and their kin. Here in Virginia, I've also been getting to know the fascinating world of fossil insects, sharks, and the ice age.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Paleo Intern Says Goodbye (by Madison Pullis)

  1. Amy Pullis says:

    Nice summary Madison! We thought you’d be pretty busy this week!

Leave a Reply

