The Paleo Intern Returns! (Guest blog by Madison)

Since the last post, I’ve finished preparing the sauropod toe bone, prepped another sauropod vertebra, and cleaned two currently unidentified and unrelated bones I have named Jane and John Doe-nosaur (I bet you didn’t know I was so pun-ny). Along with my work in the lab prepping bones and a short trip to Saltville to attend the dig, I’ve been helping the museum get ready for the DINOSAUR FESTIVAL (July 21st-22nd)!!!

20170707_141004

Bones on display for the upcoming exhibit: Dinosaurs: Reign of the Giants

 

If you read my last blog post, then you saw the sauropod vertebrae that will be on display with the new dinosaur exhibit, “Dinosaurs: Reign of the Giants,” opening during the Dino Festival! Those vertebrae are only part of the total display that depicts how bones are stored in their field jackets before they can be taken out in order to be prepared. For more details about this process or to see the bones in person, check out the museum during the Dino Festival (Question: how many times can I mention the festival during this post? Answer: Never enough!)!

Before the bones are put in a case or, if the bones aren’t going on display, before they are put in storage, they are photographed and then posted in an online database. Enjoy some of the “winners” from the photoshoot below and don’t forget to come check out the Dinosaur Festival (last time, I swear)!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Paleo Intern Returns! (Guest blog by Madison)

  1. Pullis, Amy says:

    Great updates and promotion for Dino Days!

    On Jul 10, 2017 8:33 AM, “Updates from the Paleontology Lab” wrote:

    > lucytreado posted: “Since the last post, I’ve finished preparing the > sauropod toe bone, prepped another sauropod vertebrae, and cleaned two > currently unidentified and unrelated bones I have named Jane and John > Doe-nosaur (I bet you didn’t know I was so pun-ny). Along with my” >

  2. George says:

    A number of years ago, I collected a Coleosaurus sp. (probably butchered the spelling) in a clay pit in Prince George’s County Maryland clay pit. The tooth was donated to the US Museum of Natural History. It was from the Arundle Formation (lower cretaceous). It was a neat find since dinosaur remains in Maryland are few and far between.

Leave a comment